logo
logo
Château Saint-Pierre Saint-Julien Domaines Martin

03. The Estates

Château Saint-Pierre

Saint-Julien

Other estates

Founded in the 17th Century, this 4th Grand Cru Classé was broken up and scattered as a result of several inheritances. In 1982, through a combination of luck and persistence, Henri Martin managed to re-form the estate as it was known in 1855, the year of the famous classification. Since then, thanks to the owners’ commitment, Saint-Pierre has become universally known as a perfect representative of the Saint-Julien Grands Crus Classés.

To learn more about Close
Château Saint-Pierre
  • Appellation

    Saint-Julien

  • Grape varieties

    75% Cabernet Sauvignon, 15% Merlot, 10% Cabernet Franc

  • Harvest

    manual

  • Vinification

    traditional in stainless steel, temperature-controlled tanks

  • Maturing

    14 to 16 months in casks, half of which are renewed every year

  • Annual production

    about 75 000 bottles

Château Saint-Pierre

For further information

This elegant building was designed in accordance with Médoc tradition. It stands in the midst of the vines. Its winemaking history goes back to the 16th Century. The estate is considered to be one of the oldest in the Médoc. From 1693, the archives confirm the existence of a wine estate known as “Serançan”, owned by the Marquis de Cheverry.

In 1767, Baron de Saint-Pierre bought the estate and, in accordance with the customs of the time, gave it his name. The story goes that the good Baron counted on his patron saint to open the gates of heaven for him.

After his death in 1832, his two daughters shared his inheritance. One, married to Colonel Bontemps-Dubarry, received half of the vineyards, the cellars and the château; the other, married to a Swede, Mr. de Luetkens, who also owned La Tour Carnet, received the remaining vineyards. This meant that the estate was broken up.

Château Saint-Pierre

However, Saint-Pierre was not left out of the 1855 classification in which the estate, the two halves of which were now being run separately, appeared at the top of the list of 4th grands crus.

In 1892, Mrs. de Luetkens sold her share to Léon Sevaistre (who already owned Château Saint-Louis in Saint-Julien) so that, by the end of the 19th Century, Saint-Pierre was divided between two families and lived under two labels: “Saint-Pierre-Sevaistre” and “Saint-Pierre-Bontemps-Dubarry”.

In 1922, two Antwerp merchants, the brothers Pierre and Charles Van den Bussche, brought together the two halves of the estate, except for the cellars bought from Colonel Bontemps-Kappelhoff (grandson of Colonel Bontemps-Dubarry) by Alfred Martin, who was looking for somewhere to store the new barrels that he made day after day. Sixty years later, as luck would have it, his son, Henri Martin, was able to bring things full circle. In 1981, he bought the Château Saint-Pierre house, which resembled a large country house, attracted by the site and the space that would allow him to build a bottling cellar.

Henri Martin

Château Saint-Pierre’s box


The final stage came in 1982: Henri Martin bought the estate known as “Château Saint-Pierre Sevaistre” from the heirs of the Van den Bussche family. Broken up and scattered over the centuries and successive inheritances, Château Saint-Pierre became whole again and took back the name that it had borne over two centuries ago. Henri Martin humorously summarised his story: “It took me sixty years to cover the 100 metres between Gloria and Saint-Pierre!”.

We want to make something exceptional, a wine worthy of the best “crus classes”. It’s a real challenge, but the potential is there and we’re giving ourselves the means to achieve it. Jean-Louis Triaud

03. The Estates

logo
logo
Château Saint-Pierre Saint-Julien Domaines Martin

03. Les propriétés

Château Saint-Pierre

Saint-Julien

Nos autres propriétés

Créé au 17ème siècle, ce 4ème Grand Cru Classé fut à la suite de plusieurs successions, morcelé et dispersé. Par chance et ténacité, en 1982, Henri Martin a pu reconstituer la propriété telle que connue en 1855, année du fameux classement. Depuis, et grâce à l’investissement des propriétaires, Saint-Pierre est reconnu par tous comme étant un par fait représentant des Grands Crus Classés de Saint-Julien.

En savoir Fermer
Château Saint-Pierre
  • Appellation

    Saint-Julien

  • Encépagement

    75% Cabernet Sauvignon, 15% Merlot, 10% Cabernet Franc

  • Vendanges

    manuelles

  • Vinification

    traditionnelle en cuves inox thermo-régulées

  • Elevage

    en fûts pendant 14 à 16 mois, renouvelés à moitié tous les ans

  • Production annuelle

    env. 75 000 bouteilles

Château Saint-Pierre

Pour aller plus loin

Cette élégante bâtisse a été construite dans la pure tradition médocaine. Elle trône au milieu des vignes. Son histoire viticole remonte au XVIe siècle. Un domaine considéré comme l’un des plus anciens du Médoc. En effet, dès 1693, les archives attestent de l’existence d’une propriété vinicole, appelée « Serançan », appartenant au Marquis de Cheverry.

En 1767, le Baron de Saint-Pierre s’en porte acquéreur, et selon l’usage de l’époque, lui donne son nom. L’histoire raconte que le brave Baron comptait sur son saint patron pour lui ouvrir toutes grandes les portes du paradis.

Château Saint-Pierre

Après sa mort, en 1832, ses deux filles se partagent son héritage. L’une, mariée au Colonel Bontemps-Dubarry, reçoit la moitié des vignobles, les chais et le château ; l’autre, épouse d’un Suédois, Monsieur de Luetkens, alors propriétaire de La Tour Carnet, reçoit le reste des vignes. Ce qui entraîne la scission de la propriété.

Saint-Pierre n’est pas pour autant exclu du classement de 1855 où le domaine, dont les deux moitiés sont désormais exploitées séparément, apparaît en tête de liste des 4ème grands crus.

En 1892, Madame de Luetkens cède sa part à Léon Sevaistre (déjà propriétaire du château Saint-Louis à Saint-Julien), de sorte qu’à la fin du XIXe siècle, Saint-Pierre se partage entre deux familles et vit sous deux étiquettes : « Saint-Pierre-Sevaistre » et « Saint-Pierre-Bontemps-Dubarry ».

En 1922, des négociants anversois, les frères Pierre et Charles Van den Bussche réunissent les deux moitiés du domaine, à l’exception des chais achetés au Colonel Bontemps-Kappelhoff (petit-fils du Colonel Bontemps-Dubarry) par Alfred Martin, à la recherche de place pour déposer ses barriques neuves qu’il fabriquait quotidiennement. Soixante ans plus tard, le hasard va permettre à son fils, Henri Martin, de boucler la boucle.  En 1981, il achète la demeure du Château Saint-Pierre, aux allures de grande maison de campagne, séduit par le site et l’espace qui lui permettront de construire un chai à bouteilles.

Henri Martin

Estampe Château Saint-Pierre 1982


En 1982, ultime étape : Henri Martin achète aux héritiers de la famille Van den Bussche le vignoble alors connu sous le nom de « Château Saint-Pierre Sevaistre ». Morcelé et dispersé au fil des siècles et des d’héritages successifs, le Château Saint-Pierre retrouve alors son unité et le nom qu’il portait il y a plus de deux siècles. Il saura résumer la situation avec humour : « Il m’a fallu soixante ans pour parcourir les 100 mètres qui séparent Gloria de Saint-Pierre ! ».

« Notre volonté est de faire de l’exceptionnel, un vin digne des meilleurs crus classés. C’est un défi, un challenge, mais le potentiel est là et nous nous en donnons les moyens.  » Jean-Louis Triaud

03. Les propriétés